Mombu the Microsoft Forum sponsored links

Go Back   Mombu the Microsoft Forum > Microsoft > 2nd DHCP on an additional windows server in an SBS network
User Name
Password
REGISTER NOW! Mark Forums Read

sponsored links


Reply
 
1 29th May 00:39
yantoj{hv+ˢ{&貇r
External User
 
Posts: 1
Default 2nd DHCP on an additional windows server in an SBS network


Dear expert,

how to install and deploy 2nd DHCP on an additional server in an SBS network??
i ask this because after i install 2nd DHCP on an additional windows
server2003 in an SBS network, DHCP server on SBS server won't work. and the
services stop automaticaly. and i got an error message in event viewer.
can somebody help me with this problem??because i want to use 2nd DHCP on
additional domain controller in an SBS network.

thanx a lot

best regard
  Reply With Quote


  sponsored links


2 29th May 00:40
yantoj{hv+ˢ{&貇r
External User
 
Posts: 1
Default 2nd DHCP on an additional windows server in an SBS network


Dear expert,

how to install and deploy 2nd DHCP on an additional server in an SBS network??
i ask this because after i install 2nd DHCP on an additional windows
server2003 in an SBS network, DHCP server on SBS server won't work. and the
services stop automaticaly. and i got an error message in event viewer.
can somebody help me with this problem??because i want to use 2nd DHCP on
additional domain controller in an SBS network.

thanx a lot

best regard
  Reply With Quote


  sponsored links


3 29th May 00:41
lee-睊.Ȩɢr,\
External User
 
Posts: 1
Default 2nd DHCP on an additional windows server in an SBS network


Not sure that you can on the same network. The DHCP server(s) would not know
who's boss and would both try to hand out addresses, and the client could
receive 2, etc.
  Reply With Quote
4 29th May 00:41
bob݊.Ȩɢr,\
External User
 
Posts: 1
Default 2nd DHCP on an additional windows server in an SBS network


You certainly can do this.
THe key is to understand how scopes work and exclusions.
THe key is to set them up exactly the same - except for Exclusion
ranges so that they each hand out from a different range of the scope.
So set up scope range where both are the same, ex:
192.168.1.1-192.168.1.254

Server 1 -
Exclude:
192.168.1.1-192.168.1.49 and 192.168.1.101-192.168.1.254

Server 2 -
Exclude:
192.168.1.1-192.168.1.100 and 192.168.1.151-192.168.1.254

Reservations must be made the same on both servers.
OPtions also should be identical.

This is a bit simplified but that is the basic approach.

They will co-exist and provide service as you require.
THere is probably a instruction on how to do it.
Bob
  Reply With Quote
5 29th May 00:41
lee-睊.Ȩɢr,\
External User
 
Posts: 1
Default 2nd DHCP on an additional windows server in an SBS network


Not sure that you can on the same network. The DHCP server(s) would not know
who's boss and would both try to hand out addresses, and the client could
receive 2, etc.
  Reply With Quote
6 29th May 00:41
bob݊.Ȩɢr,\
External User
 
Posts: 1
Default 2nd DHCP on an additional windows server in an SBS network


You certainly can do this.
THe key is to understand how scopes work and exclusions.
THe key is to set them up exactly the same - except for Exclusion
ranges so that they each hand out from a different range of the scope.
So set up scope range where both are the same, ex:
192.168.1.1-192.168.1.254

Server 1 -
Exclude:
192.168.1.1-192.168.1.49 and 192.168.1.101-192.168.1.254

Server 2 -
Exclude:
192.168.1.1-192.168.1.100 and 192.168.1.151-192.168.1.254

Reservations must be made the same on both servers.
OPtions also should be identical.

This is a bit simplified but that is the basic approach.

They will co-exist and provide service as you require.
THere is probably a instruction on how to do it.
Bob
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes




Copyright 2006 SmartyDevil.com - Dies Mies Jeschet Boenedoesef Douvema Enitemaus -
666