![]() |
|
|
|
|
1
9th November 19:21
External User
Posts: 1
|
OnlineHobbyist.com, Inc., owner and operator of the popular Austin-based
kingsnake.com online community, has filed a lawsuit in US District Court in Austin Texas, citing trademark infringement, dilution, and cyberpiracy, regarding the use of the domain name kingsnakes.com. To review the complaint as filed please go to: http://www.kingsnake.com/lawsuit.pdf this requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader OnlineHobbyist will issue both a press release and a statement on Thursday March 4, 2004, on the kingsnake.com web site. While we appreciate and welcome input from our users, sponsors, and advertisers, we ask that if you want to discuss this issue publicly, you do so on the public USENET group rec.pets.herp. This is a message system that is not owned, operated, or moderated by any commercial entity, and is free of owner/operator-induced bias, moderation, or editing. We ask that you do not discuss this issue on private boards such as kingsnake.com or others, so that other web community owners and operators do not incur a legal liability from messages posted by users. We hope that the public will withold their judgement until all the issues and facts are presented by both sides to the court. Court documents are a matter of public record and will be available as they are accepted by the court. rec.pets.herp may be accessed using Google's Groups interface at http://groups.google.com/groups?q=rec.pets.herp |
|
|
|
|
5
9th November 20:22
External User
Posts: 1
|
You want input? I think the lawsuit is petty and frivolous. How can you
trademark the common name of an animal? That'd be like trying to copyright zebra.com. the website www.kingsnakes.com looks nothing like www.kingsnake.com; in fact, at the top of the home page it says it's specifically for the discussion of kingsnakes (and milksnakes). Since I also frequent www.kingsnake.com, I wonder how long it will take before I'm banned due to my comments here. Seems to be what happens to people with opinions other than Jeff's. ![]() -- Chris http://www.mcmartinville.com |
|
|
6
9th November 20:22
External User
Posts: 1
|
It is not the name of the animal it self they are copy righting but the name
of the website. Because if www.kingsnakes.com was allowed to continue www.kingsnake.com would lose money and customers. |
|